Board President
European Financial Reporting Advisory Group

On 1 July 2016 Jean-Paul Gauzès was appointed as EFRAG Board President, nominated by the EC after consultation with the Council and European Parliament. His mandate was extended in June 2019 for a further three-year period till 30 June 2022.

Jean-Paul Gauzès is Chair of the European Lab Steering Group since the establishment of the European Corporate Reporting Lab@EFRAG as envisaged in the EC Action Plan Financing Sustainable Growth of March 2018. EFRAG received in June two non-finanical reporting mandates from the Executive Vice-President Dombrovskis: a mandate on preparatory work on the elaboration of possible EU non-financial reporting standards and an ad personam mandate to provide recommendations about the possible changes to the governance and financing of EFRAG in case, under a revised NFRD, EFRAG is designated as the organisation charged with developing EU non-financial reporting standards.

From 2004 till 2014 Jean-Paul was a member of the European Parliament. During the whole of this period he was a member of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs (ECON). From 2008 till 2014 Jean-Paul Gauzès was the Coordinator of the European People’s Party (EPP) Group in ECON.

He has been the rapporteur on various important dossiers including the Directive on Alternative Investment Fund Managers (2010); the Regulation on the supervision of credit rating agencies (2010); and the Regulation on the strengthening of economic and budgetary surveillance of Member States experiencing or threatened with serious difficulties with respect to their financial stability in the euro area (2012).

He is an honorary member of the Bar at the Conseil d’État and the Cour de Cassation. From 1998 till 2007 Jean- Paul Gauzès was a member of the Executive Board and Tax and Legal Director of Dexia Crédit Local. From 1973 till 1998 he worked as a lawyer and legal counsel in France.

On 1 January 2020, Jean-Paul Gauzès, has been awarded in France the order of Officier de la Légion d’Honneur, for his work as MEP and as EFRAG Board President.